When nostalgia hits hard

I am not a very nostalgic person when it comes to school. I mean, there was a point in my life when I missed it Β – most likely the few months after my departure butΒ once uni truly took over, I didn’t look back.

Like any normal person who enjoyed their high school experience,Β I would of course think about what I had done during those years, sift through memories I had created and fun I had had – I sometimes still do! However, I had made peace with the fact that, that chapter of my life was over and a new and exciting one was beginning.

school - nostalgia

My sister had her school musical last week and being a lover of the arts, I went to watch and support her. I wasn’t expecting a full on broadway show, especially since everyone with talent had graduated the year I did (I joke, i joke…sort of πŸ˜‰ ), but nonetheless I went knowing it wasn’t going to disappoint, having experienced many of their performances before.

As soon as I arrived I was greeted with warm ‘hello’s’ and ‘how are you doing?’ – I felt right at home. It was great to see teachers I hadn’t seen in almost 4 years and chat to them about life and how so much had changed. Yet,Β I was running late so I didn’t get the chance to have a proper conversation with them, but it only took those few minutes of catching up to get the nostalgic wheel of feeling going.

I found my seat and barely had enough time to sit down when the show began. Then it hit me – I felt a rush of emotions overwhelm me. I was excited, happy, sad, nervous, anxious and most of all…wistful.

At that moment, I wanted to be in high school again. I wanted to be back on stage performing for everyone. I wanted to have that security and friendship you have when performing. I wanted to have a big group of people whom you could confide in and have fun with.

Don’t get me wrong – I loooooooove my friends, production is where I met a lot of them! So it definitely took me back. However, in taking me back I wanted to experience all of that again. I wanted to meet them again, become best friends with them again, just experience everything for the first time again! Is that too much to ask?!

By the end of the musical I was a ball of emotions. I definitely hadn’t expected to feel this way, but I must admit that it was nice. it was nice reminiscing on all the good times as I really don’t do it that often – and the danger of not remincinigng is that you’ll forget. You’ll forget the little things like that time you threw ice cream on your friends dress, or the time you ate a whole trifle cake by yourself even though you should’ve shared with everyone.

Luckily I didn’t feel this way for long, but in the process I realised that it wasn’t that bad to miss high school. So many of one’s memories are made there and it’s refreshing to think about life back then. Even if it’s only been 4 years for me.

Images
1 Β© Kris Krunes
Leave a Reply

