Frans Lanting talks animals on Ted talks

I was having a look through Ted talks (as one does) and came across this short 3 minute video with guest speaker Frans Lanting.

For those of you who don’t know who this man is, he’s a photographer with much of his work featured on National geographic and Time. His photos are amazing and capture the very essence of what he means to portray and discuss.

The1lit - Frans lanting ted talks - animals

One of the points he touched on was the spirit of the animals. I thought of how foreign it was to think of animals as having spirits. Obviously, since I have not grown up with this notion on a daily basis, I would find it odd. However, it struck me.

As humans, we have the ability to discern and ignore our animalistic instincts which in some cases are incorrect. Our instinct can let us down by consuming us with our emotions, be it rage, passion or pain, where we cannot think logically or come to the right decision.

For me, this has always been the definitive barrier between us. Human and animals. I don’t think language is what differentiates us the most, rather that we have a conscious and can decide to do what’s wrong or right – they don’t.

Yet, when I look at my cat I can’t help but think that there has to be something more to this wonderful creature. How can her heart beat and mouth meow so wonderfully without a spirit in her?

The1lit - frans landing - ted talks cheetah

I’d like to think that once she’s gone from here, that she will go onto somewhere else in spirit – but maybe that’s just me being too hopeful.

Having been brought up believing that all humans have souls this video prompted me to think, why can’t animals? Is it so absurd to think that these living, breathing, beautiful creatures have souls – or spirits? Why can’t they?

Who knows?

Images
1 Unsplash
Leave a Reply

