Anne of Avonlea

AnneOfAvonleaAs a child I grew up reading every single day, immersing myself in every single story – almost becoming a character in it.

I loved it. It let my imagination run free and my own mind think of what I would do in such situations. I read all types of books, never discouraging myself, even if the book was known for being a bit hard.

Which is why I was so surprised when I came across ‘Anne of green Gables’. I had never heard of it until last year. I was wandering through the bookstore looking for a new book to read and I came across L.M.Montgomery’s classic.

It didn’t look like much but I thought I’d give it a go.

And I was incredibly glad I did. It was brilliant.

I wanted to share this amazing piece of work with everyone – but it seemed that they had already read it! It was known for being a wonderful children’s book and I hadn’t even read it!

So I finished it and continued with ‘Anne of Avonlea’. As I expected, it surpassed all expectations. In a world where all innocence and manners seem to be slowly dwindling, this book inspired hope within me.

It allowed me to think like a child again and dream of a world where we all pick strawberries each weekend and love our job without the pressure of making money.

Even though slightly tiresome at some points, ‘Anne of Avonlea’ was a breath of fresh air at a time when the world seemed to crumble.

If you need a little faith or a quick pick me up, don’t underestimate the power of Anne and her gentle nature. L.M. Montgomery foresaw the need of a little, innocent life that would inject hope and love into people’s life again and delivered.

Image 1 Anne of Avonlea, via Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

