I’ll tell you all about it when I see you again

Dear Luisito,

It’s been a long week without you, how are you? I hope you’re doing infinitely better now ❤

I still can’t believe you’re not here anymore, it feels so surreal. But I’m so glad that you’re in paradise enjoying all the love and hope you deserve. I realise that I didn’t verbally let you know how dear you were to me, but I know that actions speak louder than words and I hope that through my actions you knew that I cared and loved you. 

Even though I can’t see your face, I know that you are here listening (and reading) so I’d like to take the chance to tell you few things – just in case you don’t already know 😉 

You are my friend and always will be. I know we didn’t get forever like most friends do and I think that’s one of the things that pains me the most – the loss of a wonderful forever with you. After our first chat, I developed a map and timeline in my head about where we were going to go, what we were going to do and the memories we were going to create – Alas, that will no longer be, but it doesn’t take away from the fact that we shared great moments with so much laughter, honesty and love. I won’t forget, I promise.

I’m grateful. I am so grateful to have known such a beautiful person. Not only that, I’m so grateful that I got to know you. Not the persona you put on, but the you who was kind, gentle, incredibly intelligent and just pure niceness. You’re parents seriously did such an amazing job with you. You made it so easy to be weird and myself. It’s true when they say that time isn’t the measure of a friendship, rather the quality of the time you share.

You were amazing. Yep, you were amazing. Your laugh, your ukulele skills, your brain – the way you knew so many things was inspiring – especially coding! OMG you know I thought that was the coolest thing ever 😉 You have changed my life for the better and not a day will go by where my heart won’t miss that smile of yours.

I’m sorry. I’m sorry you had to go through so much pain and sorrow. I’m sorry I couldn’t shine enough light for you to hold onto. I’m sorry I didn’t grab onto you in Grade 6 and never let go. But as I said, I am so grateful for the time we did get 🙂 

You had such a loving heart Luis, and I know that you are in a better place now, looking down on us, laughing at all the stupid stuff that we do and say. You will always be in my prayers, thoughts and in whatever I do: whether it be going to Bled, making my home a fish tank or eating lettuce, tomatoes and corn. So be at peace now, we will all take care of each other.

Even though I don’t when it’ll be, get ready – that massive hug is coming your way. 

Until I see you again,
Christina

Luis

In loving memory of Luis Jose Vega

Rest In Peace my Friend
See you soon

 

Leave a Reply

