Melbourne’s top year

Far out! Another year practically done and dusted – how did that happen?

I’m finding myself ask the same question over and over again – why has this year gone so fast!

I can only assume that this poignant question will make a reappearance this time next year. #imgettingsoold

Yet even though this year has again come to a hurtling end, I thought it’d be nice to take a look back at all the amazing things that happened and pick the top things that made it so incredible, here we go:

Bar/Club
Melbourne is notorious for it’s nightlife which means that like everything else (as you will soon find out) it was difficult to choose a place. The place I chose was not new, but I had not been there before (not sure why really) and I loved it. It had food, cheap drinks and r’n’b all night long. Mr scruffs on Smith street, was definitely the best this year.

Book
I love books. They allow you to enter a world that is designed by you and nothing is impossible. I love them. And this year there were no shortages of incredible stories and personal bios which made this decision sooooooooooooo damn hard. In the end i couldn’t look past Girl on the Train. I love everything that incorporates mystery and suspense which I definitely found here.

09eoscpydhu-linda-xu

Song
Ok so my choices (as you are probably already finding out) stray 100% from the mainstream. Yes, it does say Melbourne’s top year, but since i’m in Melbourne and I had a top year these things will reflect my amazing year in Melbourne ๐Ÿ™‚ Despite Spotify telling me that Cheap thrills by Sia was my fave song this year, I’m going to have to say thatย Otra Vezย byย Zion & Lennox (feat. JBalvin)ย was by far the best. Obviously it will never overtake Viva la vida,ย but for 2016, it did pretty well.

Movie
AAAHHHHH this is so difficult, probably more so than choosing a song. This year provided highs and lows with movies, yet the one that impacted me the most and caused me to think about my life in a much deeper way was Cowspiracy. While it’s not your average “movie”, it’s a documentary about how the agriculture sector is the leading cause of Global Warming and why no-one seems to want to stand up to the big meat bosses. Believe me, even you don’t change your eating habits it’ll open your eyes to much injustice occurring throughout the world.

TV Show
Ok so for this one I couldn’t decide between 2. This is us and Designated Surivorย were 100% the best shows I came across this year and I can’t wait for the new seasons to start!

Images
1. Linda Xu via Unsplash

Leave a Reply

