When it doesn’t go as planned

I recently had my 24th birthday (I know, how young 😉 ) and I had planned this 24 hour extravaganza of 24 hour food and fun, yet when it came to the day, I got a fever which then resulted in gastro leaving me sick and at home. It had definitely not gone as planned.

I was devastated.

I had been anticipating this event for over 3 months and in the end, it had gone westward. I think i handled my disappointment well, however this got me thinking about how we react and deal with things when they don’t go our way. Whether it be a birthday, a job, a relationship or even an election, how we handle the situation makes it even the more better or worse.

I’m not one to dwell on things despite my dwelling nature. I don’t think it prudent to obsess over a particular fact or statement, especially if I can’t do anything to change it. It’s a strange comfort I find in knowing that what is done is done and come the next time to be able to do something about it, I will be ready.

So why is it that so many of us are so quick to have a massive sook if things don’t go our way? I understand disappointment and frustration, especially if there has been a lot of work involved but to blatantly deny what has occurred, just because you don’t like it, or focus on how it didn’t go your way is not good for you or for anyone else.

I think as a society we’re very much one of entitlement. And unfortunately, this leaves no room for failure.

We need to learn to accept the unacceptable because otherwise our lives will be in a state of constant tension, drama and anarchy – because guess what? Not everyone will always agree.

Don’t take me saying accept things as a justification for not doing anything about it. But if you know your actions are not going to bring about actionable change then let things go. I didn’t plan on getting sick for my birthday and nothing I do now will change that. I have to accept that it didn’t go my way and plan for the future – well, as much as I can ; )

Don’t let things get you down if they don’t go as planned. Being in denial rather than moving towards change won’t make things any better. Sometimes you have to make do with what you have.

Cheers,
The1lit

 

Leave a comment