Back to uni

For most, Uni has now started again here in Australia.

It is a time of great apprehension, excitement, clothing blunders and unmeasurable hope. This being my 5th year of uni, I’m quite used to the routine each new year brings, but I can still remember my first day and how I felt. It was for some stupid breadth subject that I absolutely loathed.Β It was such a waste of time but because of the Melbourne model we had to do it. It was probably at that time I thought “damn, should’ve gone to Monash”.

However, despite the many pointless subjects and stressful nights, I wouldn’t’ve had it any other way. And this is what I wish to tell my sister.

Yesterday was her first day and although it was uneventful and bland, I want her to know that uni will be some of the best days of her life. It is where i had the most fun and met the most incredible people and she will too.

I understand that when you start, it seems boring and totally overrated (at times it is 100%) but I don’t think many people look back on uni and think what a waste of time. Yes there are subjects (cough breadth cough) that are, but the lessons you learn, the person you find within yourself, will go with you even when you leave.

So if you too are starting Uni and are not looking forward to it, give it a chance. 3 or 4 years may seem like a long time, but in the grand scheme of things what’s a few years when finding out about yourself and the world? They will fly and before you know it,Β you’ll be working and looking back at your time now with a smile on your face.

So dress weird, cut your hair, travel, get a tattoo – whatever! Just enjoy πŸ™‚

xo

Photos via unsplash

Leave a Reply

